The following are the 6 high level stages of a typical Linux boot process.

1) BIOS. BIOS stands for Basic Input/Output System. ...
2) MBR. MBR stands for Master Boot Record. ...
3) GRUB. GRUB stands for Grand Unified Bootloader. ...
4) Kernel. Mounts the root file system as specified in the “root=” in grub.conf. ...5) Init. ...
6) Runlevel programs.

Below is simple video tutorial that explain Linux Boot Process 

Note - Video credit goes it's owner.

Tutorial to explains the Linux Boot Process

This is the most recent post.
Older Post
Maintained By Amit Maheshwari